If you want to improve as an official, you must work at it. You must study the rules! You must watch volleyball live. You must ask questions. All of us are either getting better or getting worse, there is no middle ground. If you think you know it all, or you think you know enough, you will falter.
P.S. We are working on this and will add more videos over time
1 Possible back row attack on the setter. At the start, watch #6 in orange, she is lined up in a way that tells you she is back row. Then she'll make a play at the net. Three parts: (1) is she back row, (2) is she in front of the attack line, and (3) is the ball COMPLETELY above the height of the net? Both the R1 and R2 should see and acknowledge the play as legal or illegal, but neither does. If you missed that she was back row at the start, you can see where she plays defense and make the call anytime before the next serve.
2 Possible back row attack on the same setter. At the start, watch #6 in orange, she is lined up in a way that tells you she is back row. Then she'll make a play at the net. Watch for the same three elements as before. Watch where she was at the start and where she plays defense. Then, we have a person (who the R1 knows) engage him at the stand. This should not happen. We see the line judge come over and stand where they belong during the time out. Then the R1 sends the line judge over to talk to the coach. Correct procedure is to bring your R2 over and have him talk to the coach.
3 Legal back row attack. Back row player behind the line.
4 Watch the hitter's foot. She steps on the line, then attacks a ball completely above the height of the net. She is a back row player. Good mechanics by the officials. It is recommended, but not required, for the R2 to be on the side of the fault. Here her R1 is signalling quickly, and the R2 can remain in her spot. Its important to be stationary while signalling.
5 Back row block by the setter #9. The first time he goes up, he does not touch the ball, so legal play. The second time he goes up, he is clearly blocking, and it should be called a fault. The R2 sees it, signals the R1, but no call is made. You can check the setter's status by watching where he plays defense. Four players go up and block during this exchange, one of them must be back row.
6 Setter in red is at the net, trying to save the ball. She is back row and clearly in front of the line. As long as the ball is above the height of the net and has broken the plane of the net, this is a back row block fault. Good mechanics by the officials.
7 Complicated play. If the ball did not cross the plane of the net, this is an over the net fault on the blocker. Jamie the setter shows you what the signal for that is. If the ball did cross the plane, this is a back row block fault on the setter. The R1 calls a double hit, which occurs in the R2s opinion because of contact with the ball by the blocker. Weak old school mechanics by the R2, we don't do it this way any more.
8 Back row block on the setter. You can tell she's back row because the coach yells at her to move before the serve to a legal spot. She then pushes her opposite out of the way, and goes up and blocks. This is a collective block, so it does not matter which of the two blockers touches the ball, front or back row, just than one of them does. Both the R1 and R2 should have seen it and called the play dead. The R1 recognizes the setter is back rwo later when she hits the ball over, but missed the block.
9 Back row block on the setter in black. You don't have to see it right away. She's back row, at the net, ball above the plane. You can see her looking guilty and moving away from the net as three blockers come up to the net. Good late call, the rule book encourages us to be late to be sure.
10 Here's part of why you delay to be sure, even check with your R2. #10 is back row, was at the net, but she's behind #12 who is front row. #12 legally hits the ball, R1 focuses on her, #16 in blue makes a horrible double hit, but call is back row on #12. After a conversation, we get a replay.
11 Possible libero fault. Libero in green is going to set the ball overhead in front of the attack line. If she does this, the hitter must hit the ball when it is at least partially below the net. We see the set, we don't get to see if the ball is high enough for the call. It does NOT matter if the hitter is behind the 10 foot line, because the libero was in front of it.
12 Another possible libero fault, the libero for the blue team is in front of the line. R1 says the hitter is hitting a ball partially below the net, which would be OK. Its close.
13 Good no call on an under. The ball is already dead, hit the ground, before the player contacts the floor across the net. R2 is aware of the play, and does not blow for a false under. We mess this call up more than any other. At least half of the under the net calls are not valid.
14 On the other hand, here's an under call not made by the R2. Fortunately, the exceptional R1 calls illegal contact on the play and the right team gets the ball. Watch the girl in white at the bottom of the screen (#14).
15 Watch these two line judges. This is how you should look. Get low, be athletic. Don't move except when you must. Hold your call once you make it.
16 R1 calls a net. R2 calls out on the antenna. Opposite of their responsibilities, but the point is the Line Judge should be in our picture, should have lined up the angle shot, and should have saved their crew by standing there waving their flag in the air. We move to line up angle shots COMING TOWARD US (not away from us), or for pancakes. Nothing else.
17 Ball hit the antenna, no call from the line judge. You have that responsibility, you are looking right at it, you must make the call.
18 OK, one other time you can move. When you are screened, its better to move or give the "I didn't see it" signal then guess and be wrong. The ball landed square on the line, but is called out.
19 Again, we only move when the ball is coming TOWARD us, not away. Here's why. Bad angle, bad call, we get a replay in a big match. R2 messesd up the same play, called a net. In both cases the R1 does a good job, says no, and calls for the replay as he should.
20 Seriously old video. Ball hits antenna. No call from the LJ. They conference, LJ maintains it didn't hit. They give the point to white. Notice how the captain comes over to ask as he should. And #11 in green makes a legal back row attack (which is blocked) at the end of the point.
21 Quick look at good mechanics. Play ends, R2 gets to the side of the fault, then R1 and R2 make their signals together.
22 Quick video of a proper libero replacement, tall girl with pink hair and libero exchange behind the attack line.
23 We love Keri, she's a great R1, but this is bad R2 position. She called a net on a pony tail in this match because she has no angle on the play.
24 Here's why the R2 needs to be on the defensive side, not on the ball side of the play. R1 calls the ball dead for crossing the center line before the interference happens, but still.
25 Proper net mechanic from the R2. Net signal on side of fault. Number. Side out simultaneouslyu with the R1. R1 then repeats the number.
26 The two middles replace behind the attack line as the libero goes back to serve. The two players can exchange ONLY when its the liberos serve. This is technically two libero replacements being done simultaneously. Normally the libero has to sit out one serve when they come out, but not in the rotation they have the serve, they can go right back in. So we don't make them leave if they don't want to go.
27 Proper substitution mechanic, except for chasing the ball.
28 Proper sub mechanic. Player on the floor cannot call for sub, it has to come from the coach or because a player enters the substitution zone off the court. Doesn't matter how many times she yells at you, your whistle does not go until we get a legal request for sub.
29 Double hit on #2 on the left side. Watch the hands, not the ball.
30 Double hit on #1 on the right side on the third hit. Third hit and second hit are judged the same, we let way too much garbage go over the net on the third hit that we'd call on the second. That's inconsistent.
31 Watch the hands. See how the setter turns and the ball leaves one hand before the other?
32 Some really old freshman ball. We get a five second call on a girl who does not serve in time. We have some good and bad ball handling. Remember, if a freshman setter gets the ball to the person she or he was going for, and its not a total disaster, you will probably let them set it. If they are setting a teammate and the ball accidently goes over the net, that almost certainly was a double hit.